The IAA Faculty Fellows program provides UNT (Denton campus) Faculty Fellows with 100% reassignment for one semester to accomplish and present creative research projects. Participants are selected through an annual application process open to all UNT (Denton campus) full time faculty in the visual, performing and creative literary arts. The list of current and emeritus IAA fellows offers examples of projects completed or underway through this initiative. Fellow’s activities often involve collaborations with outside artist and entities, resulting in creative works or initiatives that garner national attention and further raise the profile of the arts at UNT.

IAA Artist in Residence program engages artists of international stature and achievement and brings them into the campus environment to provide UNT faculty and students (as well as the community) opportunities to interact with and learn from some of the most accomplished professionals in their fields. During their stays, artist in residence pursue their own creative work and also interact with students, faculty and the community with programs, classes, master classes, and performances appropriate to their fields of endeavor and interests.

Writer and film maker Guillermo Arriaga was the inaugural IAA Artist in Residence and was followed by composer Jake Heggie for the 2010-2011 academic year. Chicago based visual artist Nick Cave served as Artist in Residence for the 2011-12 academic year, visual artist Kiki Smith for 2013-14, author Aleksandar Hemon for 2014-15, author/playwright Doug Wright for 2015-16 and musicians Roomful of Teeth for 2016-17.